Oklahoma Student Art Exhibition

OSAE High School Best of Show – Watercolor by Diego Flores, Pauls Valley HS
(Photo courtesy of Fred Marvel)


The OSAE is sponsored in part by 


The Oklahoma Student Art Exhibition (OSAE) is a juried art show open to all Oklahoma students grades Pre-K thru 12. Participating schools submit student artwork and distinguished jurors examine each piece entered in the competition. Hundreds of pieces are juror-selected in May and exhibited in the Oklahoma Contemporary Arts Center. 


Exciting News


In the past, $3,400 in Hobby Lobby gift cards was awarded to the winning schools art programs. Last year, an additional $3,100 in cash was added, courtesy of Hobby Lobby and the Oklahoma State Fair, for a total of $6,500 in awards. 

OSAE is FREE to enter and a great way to showcase student artwork. In addition to the 20 entries each school may enter, we accept an additional five entries for developmentally challenged students and one Ribbon Recycle Challenge piece from each school. 

The Oklahoma State Fair offers five annual art scholarship available to graduating seniors whose school participated in the Oklahoma Student Art Exhibition within the past two years. 


Regional Take-In & Judging Sites


Teachers in other parts of the state no longer have to make three trips to Oklahoma City for their students participating in the OSAE. In addition to Oklahoma City, take-in and judging is now available in Enid, Ada, Lawton and Tulsa. Every county in Oklahoma is assigned to one of the five district sites. See the prospectus for more information. 


Entry Information  


The top 10 overall merit schools, along with the first 10 schools to register each year, earn $100 Hobby Lobby gift cards. These are presented at the OSAE Awards. Ceremony during the Oklahoma State Fair.


Registration is now closed.


Congratulations to the first 10 schools who registered for the 2019 Oklahoma Student Art Exhibition.

Each of these schools will receive a $100 Hobby Lobby gift card to be used for art supplies.

  • Bridgestone Elementary School –  Western Height School District
  • Bristow High School – Bristow School District
  • Centennial Elementary School –  Edmond School District
  • El Reno High School –  El Reno School District
  • Lone Grove Middle School – Lone Grove School District
  • Newcastle Middle School – Newcastle School District
  • Perry High School – Perry School District
  • Putnam Heights Elementary – Oklahoma City School District
  • Southmoore High School – Moore School District
  • Whitebead Elementary School –  Whitebead School District


Ribbon Recycle Challenge - Sponsored by Wade Shows


Each year, the Oklahoma State Fair awards hundreds of ribbons to winning competitors. Inevitably, there are left over ribbons. Rather than allow these ribbons to go to waste, the Ribbon Recycle Challenge program was created as an optional component of OSAE. Participating schools receive a packet of at least 200 surplus ribbons to create unique works of art while practicing the principle of “reduce, reuse, recycle.” All schools participating in OSAE are invited to participate in the Ribbon Recycle Challenge. This year, a total of $1,500 in cash and gift cards will be awarded, courtesy of Wade Shows, the carnival provider for the Oklahoma State Fair.



2018 OSAE Winners


Elementary School

Best of Show - Thao Tran, Arbor Grove ES
Judges' Choice - Cameron Berumen, Arbor Grove ES
Superintendent's Choice - Warren Hacker, Greystone ES


Middle/Junior High School

Best of Show - Andrea Mendizabal, Clinton MS
Judges' Choice - Mersadies Eastin, Oklahoma Bible Academy
Superintendent's Choice - Carter Quirey, Lone Grove MS


High School

Best of Show - Diego Flores, Pauls Valley HS
Judges' Choice - Hunter Adkins, Norman HS
Superintendent's Choice - Jillian Bouse, Woodward HS


Ribbon Recycle Challenge 

Best of Show & 1st Place Elementary School - Oakridge ES
1st Place Middle/Junior High School - Cheyenne MS
1st Place High School - Clinton HS

Visual Arts Scholarship 


The visual arts scholarship application will open soon. The 2019 guidelines are now available.

 2019 Guidelines 

2019 Registration is now closed.


2018 Visual Arts Scholarship Winners



Katelyn Cejka, Bethel High School
Imani Davis, Star Spencer High School
Mariah Duwel, Carl Albert High School


Kaitlyn Dooley, Choctaw High School
Ashlynn Cook, Woodward High School


University Partners


University of Central Oklahoma: UCO will match the first two recipients who apply to UCO for the $1,500 scholarships presented by the Oklahoma State Fair. For complete information, contact the College of Fine Arts and Design. 


Oklahoma City University: OKCU will provide an art talent scholarship of $3,000 for $1,500 scholarship recipients and an art talent scholarship of $1,000 for $500 scholarship recipients. This funding is applicable only for Studio Art and Film majors and is renewable for up to four years for a total of $4,000 - $12,000. OKCU will determine the parameters for use of these funds. All funds must be accepted no later than August 1, 2020.




Nancy Nortz